Automatic Ticketing

For the first time in the country, Delhi Metro has introduced passenger and ticketing control through a completely Automatic Fare Collection system.

The ticket, which could be both a token or card can be purchased from the Customer Care Centre and Ticket Counter. Subsequently, the passenger proceeds to one of the few gates that separate the Paid Area from the Unpaid Area. At the entrance, passengers should hold the ticket close to the machine to the right of the gate. If the ticket is valid, the gates open automatically, and the passenger will be able to pass to the Paid Area. In case of not having a valid pass, then the passenger will need to contact the Customer Care Staff.

Ticket Options

A travelcard represents the most convenient option for a frequent passengers. The minimum amount t of buying a new card is Rs 150/- including refundable security of Rs. 50/-. Recharge of the card is possible at Customer Care Centers located at any station with a minimum value of Rs. 200/- and up to Rs. 3000/-

Following options are available for passengers who are interested in recharging their travel cards:

The card can be recharged by paying cash at the Customer Care Center which is available at all stations. The minimum amount to put on smart cards is Rs. 200/- after that in multiples of Rs. 100 up to Rs. 3000.

Tourist cards

  • The one-Day card is available for Rs 200/- (Rs 150 + Rs 50 refundable security)
  • The three-Day card can be purchased at the cost of Rs 500/- (Rs. 450 + Rs 50 refundable security)
  • Token

  • Passengers can buy single journey tokens from ticket counters that are conveniently located on all stations as well as from TVMs of selected stations
  • The journey is allowed for one way only
  • Tokens validity lasts only for the day of its purchase
  • The minimum Fare is Rs. 10/-. The maximum fare is Rs. 60/- (fares can be revisioned from time to time), (Rs 80/- including Rapid Metro)
  • A commuter can refund it within 60-minutes at the same station.
  • Information


    Red Line The Red Line was the first one of the subway when it opened. It connects Shaheed Sthal in the east to Rithala in the west. With a total length of 34.69 kilometers, the part of the line is elevated, and the part is at grade, crossing the Yamuna River between Kashmere Gate and Shastri Park stations. The inauguration of the first stretch between Tis Hazari and Shahdara led to the collapse of the ticketing system because the line was overloaded with the number of people that exceeded the capacity to four times. Yellow Line After the red one, the Yellow line was second to go. It was the first underground line in Delhi Metro. Currently, the line connects Samaypur Badli with Huda City Centre that is 49 kilometers from each other. The southern and northern parts of it are elevated when the central section runs underground. The line includes the second deepest Metro Station of India. Chawri Bazar is situated 25 meters below ground level. Blue Line The third line of the metro was the first to connect areas located outside Delhi. The most elevated line covers 56.61 kilometers and connects the satellite city of Noida in the east with Dwarka Sub City in the west. The first section between Dwarka and Barakhamba road was inaugurated in 2005. GreenLine The fifth line of the Delhi Metro opened in 2010. It was the first line on standard gauge. The route runs between Inderlok and Brigadier Hoshiyar Sing with a branch line connecting the Ashok Park Main station with Kirti Nagar station that lies on the Blue line. The line consist